A new start, with my third pair of socks

Posted on Sunday, 15th April, 2007. Filed under: knitting |

I’m thinking this blog might be the more sensible way to show off my crafts, we’ll see how things go… I’m not overly keen on the look of it but it will have to do, maybe one day I’ll actually get round to learning about CSS and be able to get it how I want.

Anyway, what I’m here for: socks. My third pair, in a Regia 4-ply I bought in Oberstdorf (wheee):

Fuchsia lace socks

fuschsialacesocks2.jpg

I’m not as thrilled with them as my previous pairs, even apart from the mistake in one row that I was too lazy to take back. I thought that as it was a rib, if a fairly wide and fancy one, I wouldn’t need different ribbing at the top, but I now see it really would’ve looked better. Also, although, I like very short socks, I think in this pattern they also would’ve looked better longer, or just with the additional length of some 1×1 ribbing. I also think I need to be doing a deeper heel. But, live and learn, they feel fine so they’ll still get worn, if only under trousers where they won’t show. And, inspired by these, I think I might run some ribbon round the top of them, in which case they’d look pretty enough to wear with a skirt.

I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of my next lot of yarn, I got the email to say it had been sent about four days ago but there’s still no sign of it! I hate Royal Mail.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “A new start, with my third pair of socks”

RSS Feed for cherryflip Comments RSS Feed

Well, despite your criticism, I like them very much.
I take it by ‘Oberstdorf’ you ahve recently been to Germany? I believe we visted this place in October 05. I bought some trad German clothes-jackets and shirts. However, I know there are two towns with very similar spelt names. I can’t recall if I visted both!

Those socks are beautiful looking!!!
What pattern did you use?? Anyway,
just wanted to stop by and say welcome
to the blog world and that I loved your socks!

April in SC
http://its-a-left-knit-life.blogspot.com/

I’m on Socknitters group and followed your link to find a pic of these beautiful pink socks. Congratulations! Nice work! Marlene in MI

Thanks!

Yes, I was in Oberstdorf to watch the World Junior Figure Skating Championships, I’ve wanted to go there for many years and it was just as magical as I expected, the only disappointment was the complete lack of snow! I was thrilled to find a wool shop there and couldn’t resist buying a couple of balls, especially as it’s *so* much cheaper there.

The pattern is this lace ribbing, with the basic construction being further progress on my development of a basic pattern that’s just right for me.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

