Waste Not Want Not

Posted on Saturday, 26th May, 2007. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I have two sets of five 8-inch 2.5mm bamboo double-pointed needles that I’m not using at all at the moment. One of them I, erm, bought accidently in Germany as I didn’t understand what the guy in the shop was saying. Anyway, I’d already stopped using them when I got a set of 6-inch (well, 16cm) ones, and now I’m tending to use needles smaller than 2.5, too. But now two of the needles are back in use! With some Fimo, glue and varnish, I have a diddy pair of straight needles:Customised knitting needles

All very straightforward, but I’m still rather proud of them. That’s a rather small version of Branching Out in progress on them, in a too-cheap-not-to-buy crochet cotton from Lidl, it seems as good quality as the branded stuff, pity this kind of thing is always a one-off in there. But it should keep me going a while, the pack of eight balls cost me as much as I usually pay for one! Anyway, the knitting… I’m not quite sure what the point of it is, I just felt like knitting something really lacy, I’d have gone onto finer thread and smaller needles if I could. I wanted to knit a doily, but after a few attempts at starting one and ending up with a tangle of needles and thread that I couldn’t make head nor tail of, I gave up. But that is what knitting on double-points in general looked like in my first attempts, so maybe one day… There seems to be a lot of starting needles with yarn overs as well, though, and I still haven’t got the hang of that.

I know I’m rambling a bit, it’s one of those days when I’ve had to resort to the painkillers, eek.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

