Feather & Fan silk scarf

Posted on Friday, 1st June, 2007. Filed under: knitting |

 

Feather & Fan scarf detail Well, sort of feather & fan. I was doing the pattern from memory and completely forgot about the wrong-side knit rows until I was far enough in to influence my decision that I didn’t really care. So it doesn’t lie quite as flat as it could, but it doesn’t really matter.

 

Feather & Fan scarf being blocked Blocking was really not fun. I’ve never had to do it before because they only things I’ve made that really had to be prodded into shape were crochet snowflakes and stuff where they just got treated to some spray starch and a light press with the iron. My hallway was the only place where I had enough space to lay the whole thing out, (which caused some problems when the electrician had to come in with his steps to fix something, which I’d forgotten about, oops), and I’m not sure if I was going about things the right way. But it worked and it was worth it, I’m very pleased with the result!

Feather & Fan scarf

 

4-ply bourette silk on 3.75mm needles. They were metal needles because that’s what I had, and they felt so huge and slippery as I’m spending most of my time on skinny bamboo ones for socks. I’m sure it would’ve knit up a lot tighter on bamboo needles of the same size.

I know there are too many reallys in this post, and it’s really really annoying, but I’m too tired to fix it. They’re a bad habit of mine at the best of times.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Feather & Fan silk scarf”

RSS Feed for cherryflip Comments RSS Feed

Really? Sorry couldn’t resist. It’s very pretty. My electrician hubby would have come in & said “Blocking Eh? Nice Scarf” & the been touching the yarn to see what it was.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

