Merino socks

Posted on Tuesday, 12th June, 2007. Filed under: knitting, yarn |

Knitted on 2mm Clover bamboo dpns with Socrates hand-dyed merino in Genevieve (I used 68g.). It’s the first time I’ve knitted with merino, and I can’t believe how soft and springy it is! Gorgeous stuff, although I did find this yarn a little splitty, and they feel wonderful on my feet.

I love the way the colours work with the slip-stitch pattern on the heel:

I slightly messed up the heel turn on the second one, I wasn’t giving it my full attention and it ended up a few stitches off centre, but I left it as is, it doesn’t bother me, I can’t see it in the finished sock, probably I could if I looked carefully enough knowing it was there, but the kind of mistake you have to do that to find is that kind that really can be left.

I did the longest heel flap I’ve done on any socks so far with this pair, and it’s perfect, they fit so well. With the 2mm needles I had to cast on 72 stitches to start rather than the 56 on 2.5mm, so the going was a lot slower and sometimes it seemed to take forever to get to the end of the instep needle compared to what I’m used to, but it was definitely worth it, I love the fabric.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

