Bright Nordic Mittens

Posted on Friday, 8th February, 2008. Filed under: knitting |

Though not quite as bright as they look in these photos!

Bright Nordic Mittens, fronts    Bright Nordic Mittens, front and back

I just couldn’t get any photos to come out looking remotely the right colour when I had them laid out flat. The colours are much more true in this one:

Bright Nordic mitten, on my hand

I love how the design works with the shape of my hand! I couldn’t be sure until it was done if I’d got things in the right place.

I used Jaeger Matchmaker Merino on 3mm and 3.25mm dpns.  The design is my own, inspired by various ones I’ve seen online. The simple repeating background is one I came up with for some socks (and I’m sure many other people have come up with it independently), and I used a peasant thumb as it’s the only one I know how to do – the only other mitten-like things I’ve made before are many many pairs of Fetching from Knitty, and that’s where I learnt it.

This is also my first finished colourwork project (the socks are still in progress) so I’m completely thrilled, I keep looking at them and wondering how I came up with knitting that looks like it belongs to someone else! I am always confident with crafts and rarely think something is beyond me, but when I knitted when I was younger I just could not get the hang of colourwork, my tension was awful, it all ended up looking a mess, so I just set it aside as an area I happen to not be good at and ignored it. I saw so many beautiful patterns though that I just had to give it another go more recently, and to my astonishment, it was no problem at all. I suppose being a much better knitter overall by now just gives me more of an instinct for getitng the right feel of it.

These could be improved; I’ve learnt a lot from them. I would do my decreases slightly differently to make them look a bit tidier, and the thumb is about half an inch too baggy: next time I would probably do it over the same number of stitches but decrease rapidly in the first two or three rows. But overall I’m very happy and looking forward to more mittens, and more colourwork!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Bright Nordic Mittens”

RSS Feed for cherryflip Comments RSS Feed


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

