Naan Bread

Posted on Monday, 8th September, 2008. Filed under: baking |

I’ve been wanting to make naan bread for ages, but seeing this recipe on TV finally prompted me into it as I particularly liked the look of it. I did make some changes. Rather than the seeds suggested I used black onion seeds, as they’re the ones that give the distinctive taste to every naan I’ve ever had. I used melted butter rather than oil, and sunflower oil to brush them with as olive oil just seems really wrong. Rather than two teaspoons I used 50g, mostly because that’s how much of a pack I had left and it was easiest to dump it straight in the pan from the wrapper, but also I thought it could probably do with a bit of extra fat as I could only find fat-free yoghurt. I cooked them under the grill rather than in the oven – it’s so much fun watching them puff up as they cook! – and wrapped them in teatowels to cool so they would stay soft rather than getting a crust on them.

There are no words for how well they turned out. The taste and texture are utterly divine. I will definitely be using this recipe again (and again), and probably adapting it to other types of flatbreads too.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

