Yoghurt Cake

Posted on Monday, 24th November, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

yoghurtcake1

Recipe from Chocolate & Zucchini. I cannot enthuse enough about this cake! Lately I’ve been finding most cakes too sweet and/or greasy to stomach (horrors!) but this deals with both of those problems nicely. I also always like to have standbys of very quick and easy recipes, and this is certainly both. The only alterations I made were to use self-raising flour (240g, it doesn’t give that conversion) and to bake it in a rectangular pan as my biggest round one is only eight inches and I didn’t want to mess about with extra depth affecting the timing of the baking and stuff – the rectangular one gives the same area as a ten-inch round tin. It’s moist and fluffy and only slightly sweet, and the weirdest but best thing is that it has an almost fruity flavour from the acidity of the yoghurt. It gives it a freshness that means you don’t suffer from the feeling of having eaten something heavy and rich after. Oh, I also used low-fat yoghurt as that’s what I had and it certainly did it no harm.

This is definitely going to become one of my regular recipes, I know it. I’m already thinking of a chocolate version… Clearly I’m more a Clotilde than a Maxence 😉

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

