Tiny Tulips sock pattern

Posted on Tuesday, 15th May, 2007. Filed under: knitting, patterns |

I know it’s a horrendously cutesy name, but then they’re horrendously cutesy socks. I hope the pattern all makes sense as it’s my first attempt at writing one, but I think it should do. These are by far my best-fitting and most comfortable pair of socks yet, I love them! They’re in Regia cotton, which I also love, it’s very soft and snuggly.

Tiny Tulips socks Click for the big version.

Cast on 56 stitches, using this picot cast-on: using cable cast-on, cast on 4 stitches, cast off two, slide the stitch remaining on the right needle back to the left, repeat until required number of stitches is reached. Distribute stitches across three needles, arranged 16/24/16, and join.

Knit one row, pulling the stitches firmly to close the gaps from the cast-on.

Round 1: k1tbl, p2, k3, p2, repeat to end.
Round 2: s1 (knitwise), p2, k3, p2, repeat to end.
Round 3: As round 1
Round 4: As round 2
Round 5: As round 1
Round 6: s1, p2, yo, sl1, k2tog, psso, yo, p2, repeat to end.

Work for approximately 3 and a half inches; ending with round 5, work to last stitch of round, slide this stitch from needle 3 to needle 1.

To divide stitches for heel, work next 28 stitches (including the one you just transferred) onto one needle thus: k1, work in pattern for 25 stitches, k2.
Knit next 28 stitches onto another needle. Working on these 28 stitches,
Row 1 (WS): s1, p1, repeat to end.
Row 2: s1, knit to end.
In this pattern, work 35 rows.

Turn heel:
s1, k15, ssk, k1, turn
s1, p5, p2tog, p1, turn
s1, k6, ssk, k1, turn
s1, p7, p2tog, p1, turn
s1, k8, ssk, k1, turn
s1, p9, p2tog, p1, turn
s1, k10, ssk, k1, turn
s1, p11, p2tog, p1, turn
s1, k12, ssk, k1, turn
s1, p13, p2tog, p1, turn
s1, k14, ssk, turn
s1, p14, p2tog, turn

Knit across heel stitches.
With a new needle, pick up 20 stitches along edge of heel flap (needle 1)
With a new needle, k1,* k1tbl, p2, k3, p2, repeat from * to last 3 stitches of needle, k1tbl, k2 (needle 2)
With a new needle, pick up 20 stitches along edge of heel flap, and knit next 8 stitches (needle 3). Slide the remaining 8 stitches onto needle 1.

Next round
Needle 1: Knit even, knitting picked-up stitches through back loops
Needle 2: k1, *s1, p2, k3, p2, repeat from * to last 3 stitches, s1, k2. Note this and previous row form fancy rib pattern that will be continued on this needle to the toe.
Needle 3: As needle 1.

Decrease round
Needle 1: Knit to last 3 stitches, k2tog, k1
Needle 2: Work even
Needle 3: k1, ssk, knit to end.

Alternate even and decrease rounds until 14 stitches remain on each of needle 1 and 3. Continue without further shaping to 2 inches short of foot length required.

Work a decrease round:
Needle 1: knit to last 3 stitches, k2tog, k1
Needle 2: k1, ssk, knit to last 3 stitches, k2tog, k1
Needle 3: k1, ssk, knit to end.

Knit two rounds even.
Work a decrease round followed by two even rounds, three times more.
Work a decrease round followed by one even round, twice.
Work four decrease rounds. 16 stitches remain. Knit next four stitches, graft remaining stitches together.

Weave in ends.

I added rambling about the sizing of these socks here, and I now also know that my shoe size is a US 6.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

20 Responses to “Tiny Tulips sock pattern”

RSS Feed for cherryflip Comments RSS Feed

absolutely adorable!!! i can’t wait to knit them!

How gorgeous! It’s officially now in the TBK pile!

Barbara in NH

These socks and the pattern are absolutely beautiful.
Nice job!!

I think they look brilliant, I can never see the day when I can make a sock pattern. YOU HAVE EARNED LOADS OF bROWNIW POINTS.

These are so sweet, they make my teeth ache!
Beautiful pattern. I can’t wait to try them.

What size are these? I need to make socks for a large foot (size 9 1/2 – 10 shoe – US)

[…] Tiny Tulips sock pattern I know it’s a horrendously cutesy name, but then they’re horrendously cutesy socks. I hope the pattern all […] […]

These are great, but what needle size/guage did you use?? Love them! Thanks for sharing

Very nice socks -clour and pattern.

Very cute, but be sure to take them off and wash them eventually.
Sarah from socknitters

Really pretty sock!

What a cute sock !!! I printed it for using later.
Thanks for sharing

I made these in a bright yellow. Needed more stitches for my yarn so increased the pattern repeats around and continued the pattern down the top of the socks. I love this cast on faux picot edge and will use it again. Congratulations on a great pattern.

What size needles do you recommend using?

What size needles and what other yarns do you recommend, just in case one lives in a small town with no knit shop or is too lazy to go online and look? 🙂

Very cute…you know, in the good way. Thanks for the pattern and the inspiration!

great looking socks, I plan on making these
real soon. Could you please let me know what
size needles and gauge to use? Thanks for a
cute pattern.

Any answer to the what size needle question? I’m printing this off to use and will fudge it if necessary;-)
Gorgeous socks.

Sorry, I’ve been so useless at replying to stuff! You should see my email backlog…

I added a post with the information I forgot in my excitement here, which I meant to edit into this post and didn’t get round to that, either. Probably I should do it now before I forget again.

Thanks so much for all the nice comments! It’s so great to know people like this, and especially that they really are knitting it!

That’s really creative, you’re talented!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...